Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Davis pens three-year Saints extension

Published 07/03/2013 | 17:41

Southampton have tied Kelvin Davis to the club for the next three years
Southampton have tied Kelvin Davis to the club for the next three years

Club captain Kelvin Davis has become the latest Southampton player to commit his future to the club by signing a new deal until 2016.

  • Go To

After Morgan Schneiderlin and Jason Puncheon last week penned new deals, the 36-year-old goalkeeper has followed suit. Davis is Southampton's longest-serving player and has made 283 appearances since joining from Sunderland six and a half years ago.

"When I first came to this club, to say that I would have been here for this period of time is something that I would have dreamed about," Davis told the club's official website, saintsfc.co.uk. "For that dream to have materialised and for me to be feeling good is something I am really, really pleased with."

He added: "I've seen a few things - a few ups and downs - but since Nicola Cortese arrived with Markus Liebherr, the club has been on a journey."

Davis' previous deal was due to expire at the end of next season and his new contract will take him through to his testimonial year.

The goalkeeper had been on the verge of a move to West Ham in 2009 when the club, relegated to League One, was financially ruined, but Davis was quick to commit his future to the club and helped secure back-to-back promotions.

"As club captain, Kelvin plays an extremely important role at Southampton," Saints manager Mauricio Pochettino said.

"His presence in the dressing room is second to none, and his experience has proved to be vitally important to the club as we look to achieve our aims.

"He has been a massive part of this club during his six and a half years here, and there are few things in football that he hasn't seen so far in his career.

"Every successful team needs to have characters and people like Kelvin, so I'm delighted that he has committed himself to the club for a further three and a half years."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport