Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Coloccini committed to Magpies

Published 06/05/2014 | 09:27

Fabricio Coloccini insists he is staying at Newcastle
Fabricio Coloccini insists he is staying at Newcastle

Skipper Fabricio Coloccini has moved to end speculation over his future by insisting he will remain a Newcastle player next season.

The 32-year-old central defender looked to be heading away from Tyneside when he asked to leave because of personal problems in January last year.

However, the Argentina international was held to the four-year contract extension he had signed in March 2012 by the Magpies and, despite suggestions that he would look to end his stay in England this summer, he has signalled his intention to stay.

Coloccini told the Shields Gazette: "For sure. I'm going to be here."

The news represents a boost for beleaguered managed Alan Pardew, who is already facing a significant rebuilding job after a difficult season.

He told Press Association Sport: "He is a Newcastle player and he will be next year."

Coloccini played in Saturday's 3-0 Barclays Premier League victory over Cardiff as Newcastle ended a run of six successive defeats, with unhappy fans making their feelings abundantly clear.

He turned in one of his better performances in recent weeks to remind supporters of the form which made him a favourite, prompting such concern when he expressed a desire to be allowed to return to South America.

Argentinian club San Lorenzo waged a very public campaign to lure Coloccini home, but could not come up with the kind of finance they needed to persuade the Magpies to do business and it was left to Pardew to delicately re-integrate the player and help him through the issues behind his request.

Coloccini said: "I had personal problems. Sometimes it's tough. You have to decide between the problems and the work.

"Sometimes it's too difficult. Now it's finished and next season, I will be here. I'm looking forward to improving.

"We want the best for Newcastle United. This season, we finished top 10, and maybe we will bring some players [in the summer].

"We will try to do well and finish in the top eight or something like that. We will always try to improve."

Crystal Palace's remarkable fightback against Liverpool on Monday night was not enough to maintain their faint hopes of forcing their way ahead of Newcastle in the league table as the final round of fixtures approaches and that means Pardew's men will finish in the top 10, the point at which staff bonuses will be paid.

They are currently in ninth place, but could yet be overtaken by Stoke on the final day, when they head for Anfield.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport