Sport Soccer

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Ciaran Clark signs new deal at Aston Villa

Published 18/07/2013 | 14:26

Ciaran Clark
Ciaran Clark

CIARAN Clark has become the latest player to pledge his future to Aston Villa, signing a new three-year deal through to 2016.

The 23-year-old Ireland defender, an academy product at Villa Park, has made 75 appearances in all competitions for the club since making his senior debut in 2009, scoring six goals

 

He joins goalkeeper Brad Guzan, midfielder Ashley Westwood and fellow academy graduates Andreas Weimann and Nathan Baker in putting pen to paper on a new deal this summer.

 

The Republic of Ireland international said: "From a personal point of view, I really couldn't be more delighted or more proud.

 

"I've been here since I was 12 years old, progressing from the younger teams through the youth team along with players such as Marc Albrighton, Barry Bannan and another couple who have just signed new deals in Nathan Baker and Andreas Weimann.

 

"It's great that we've all managed to come through together and there's a bond there with this club that's as close as family to us lads especially."

 

Manager Paul Lambert has been busy in the transfer market so far this summer, recruiting defenders Jores Okore and Antonio Luna, midfielders Leandro Bacuna and Aleksander Tonev, striker Nicklas Helenius and goalkeeper Jed Steer, and Clark is feeling positive about the coming season.

 

"Everyone's at the stage now where we just want to get out and play and the competition for places is tougher than it's been these past few seasons, no doubt about that," Clark added on avfc.co.uk.

 

"The players who have come in have integrated into the squad really well.

 

"There's definitely a vibrant feeling within the camp and a real desire to push on and keep building. We feel like we have very strong foundations in place.

 

"The manager has also been superb in instilling confidence and ambition, a real desire to succeed for the club and we're all hungry to achieve something here."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport