Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Chelsea quiet on Lampard reports

Published 15/05/2013 | 09:51

Frank Lampard is expected to captain Chelsea in the Europa League final
Frank Lampard is expected to captain Chelsea in the Europa League final

Chelsea have declined to comment on reports that midfielder Frank Lampard has agreed a new one-year contract to extend his 12-year stay at Stamford Bridge.

  • Go To

Lampard, who joined from West Ham in 2001 and whose current deal expires at the end of the season, is poised to captain Chelsea in the Europa League final with Benfica in Amsterdam in the likely absence of John Terry.

The future of the England midfielder, who will be 35 in June, has been shrouded in uncertainty, but after surpassing the club's goalscoring record last Saturday a conclusion is close.

Speaking last week, prior to netting his 202nd and 203rd Chelsea goals in the 2-1 defeat of Aston Villa, Lampard said: "I've always said that I wanted to spend all of my career here so I think everyone knows that."

It is possible the final could be Lampard's last in Europe for the Blues, whose 69-game competitive season concludes at home to Everton on Sunday.

Speaking on the eve of the match, he refused to contemplate the future.

Lampard, who overtook Bobby Tambling's 43-year-old mark of 202 goals with his double at Villa Park, said: "I don't know what the future exactly holds, but it doesn't matter. It's about winning the game. All of us here want to win this for Chelsea."

If Lampard, who has been linked with moves to Los Angeles Galaxy, among others, is granted an extension, it could see a reunion with Jose Mourinho, who has been strongly linked with a return to Stamford Bridge as manager this summer.

Lampard hopes to emulate the longevity of Manchester United duo Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs.

"I'd love to carry on as long as I feel I can do and I feel I'm fit," he said last week. "I'd love to do that, for another three or four years. I'd love to emulate those boys."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport