Sport Soccer

Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Character important to Martinez

Published 17/06/2013 | 17:28

Roberto Martinez is eyeing up potential new signings for Everton in Brazil
Roberto Martinez is eyeing up potential new signings for Everton in Brazil

Roberto Martinez is placing as much importance on character as he is ability as he seeks to make his first signings as Everton manager.

  • Go To

He accepts, having been in the job for less than a fortnight, that may take a while. But he believes being patient will pay off as it allows him to make the right decisions about who he needs to bring in.

"As you can imagine, that is something that you need to work early on and obviously the whole football club will work together towards that," said the Spaniard.

"There is some work going on already and over the next few weeks we need to make sure that we bring the right characters as well as the right players to the football club.

"It's not going to be the case of bringing anyone at any time - it's important we identify the type of help we need in the dressing room and in the team and make sure they are a type of footballer who will fit in with the train of thought at Everton. It's more a matter of finding the right players and that will take a little bit of time."

Martinez, who will not meet his entire first-team squad until they join up for pre-season training next month, is hoping to get some scouting done at the Confederations Cup. The Toffees boss is working as a television pundit in Brazil and he hopes that will give him a chance to take a closer look at potential targets.

"I think the major events are a first for seeing players and ways of playing," he told evertontv.

"It's always a unique experience to see footballers under massive, massive pressure of representing their country and representing the expectations of a country and being able to play their football.

"There are always footballers that catch your eye under those circumstances.

"I always like to follow the big events and to do that with the name of Everton and opening new markets with Everton, it will be a real enjoyment and something I'm really looking forward to."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport