Sport Champions League

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Spanish label Rooney a 'freckled demon' and a 'hooligan'

Published 12/02/2013 | 15:22

Madrid-based newspaper Marca's front page featuring Wayne Rooney
Madrid-based newspaper Marca's front page featuring Wayne Rooney

MANCHESTER United striker Wayne Rooney has been called a “hooligan” and a “freckled demon” ahead of tomorrow's night Champions League meeting with Real Madrid by a Spanish newspaper.

  • Go To

Marca, a paper with close links to Real, caused controversy today when columnist Hugo Cerezo poked fun at the England international.

“Rooney is a football player and hooligan all rolled into one,” he wrote.

“To look at him you'd think he was one of the 4,000 British fans on the terraces, there to support United: yelling and drinking beer and jumping the queue to get in through Gate D.

“But Rooney will run out on to the turf at the Bernabeu and face players who have bones to pick with him. Pepe, Carvalho, Casillas and Cristiano Ronaldo may well relive their encounters with the English bad boy.”

ABC.es also caused a stir by referring to Alex Ferguson as “grandpa Fergie”.

ABC is slightly more neutral in its approach towards tomorrow's game, suggesting that Manchester United and Madrid are two of the most “successful” teams in Europe but then goes on to pick out Real Madrid as superior to United:

“The big difference between the teams is that Madrid has more talent than United,” they said.

“The Special One [Jose Mourinho] wants to put grandpa Fergie in retirement quickly, to inherit his throne.”

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport