Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


La Decima: Real Madrid's road to perfect 10

James Mariner

Published 26/05/2014 | 02:30

Fernando Morientes of Real Madrid
Fernando Morientes of Real Madrid

1956: beat Stade Reims 4-3

  • Go To

Jose Villalonga Llorente led the Spaniards to the first European Cup, Real recovering from a 2-0 deficit to defeat French side Reims in Paris with two goals from Hector Rial.

1957: beat Fiorentina 2-0

The title was retained at the Bernabeu 12 months later, Alfredo Di Stefano and Francisco Gento scoring late on.

1958: beat Milan 3-2 (aet)

New manager, same result. Luis Carniglia steered Real to a third crown in Brussels after twice coming from behind.

1959: beat Stade Reims 2-0

The dominance continued in Stuttgart as Reims were again beaten, Enrique Mateos and Di Stefano scoring in the opening minutes of either half.

1960: beat Eintracht Frankfurt 7-3

Hampden Park was the setting as Real took part in a thrilling 10-goal final. Di Stefano (four) and Ferenc Puskas (three) shared the goals after the Germans took an early lead.

1966: beat Partizan 2-1

After a six-year gap, Miguel Munoz won his second title with Real in Brussels. Amancio Amaro and Fernando Serena scored in the final quarter for the win.

1998: beat Juventus 1-0

Jupp Heynckes ended a 32-year wait for a seventh European Cup success as Juventus lost for the second successive year. Predrag Mijatovic's strike midway through the second period settled matters in Amsterdam.

2000: beat Valencia 3-0

Real reclaimed the title from Manchester United in the first final with teams from the same country. Former Liverpool star Steve McManaman scored in between strikes from Fernando Morientes and Raul at Stade de France.

2002: beat Bayer Leverkusen 2-1

Zinedine Zidane's magnificent volley on half-time was the difference as Vicente del Bosque's side won a third crown in five seasons.


Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport