Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Jose Mourinho: It will be very difficult for us to reach Champions League final

Jack Pitt-Brooke

Published 25/04/2013 | 08:31

JOSE MOURINHO, the Real Madrid coach, said it was “very disappointing” to lose 4-1 to Borussia Dortmund in the first leg of their Champions League semi-final, and admitted it will be “very difficult” for his side to reach the final.

“I think they were the best team by far,” Mourinho said afterwards. “On every individual battle on the pitch they were stronger than us, they were more aggressive physically, they were more aggressive mentally so I think they deserve.

”How did it go from 1-1 to 4-1? I really don't know,“ Mourinho said of Dortmund's second-half onslaught that took the game away from Real. ”It was everything happened in a very short space of time in far goal from position where I was, but it looks for me again that we lost easy possession, easy possession and we couldn't cope with their counter-attack and with their transition.“

Mourinho said Real may need a ”crazy night“ in the second leg to get the three goal they need to progress. ”Of course in a crazy night when everyone performs at a high level where every chance you have every goal you score with a high level of efficiency of course we can.

Jürgen Klopp, the delighted Dortmund coach, insisted that he is confident Robert Lewandowski will not follow Mario Götze from Borussia Dortmund to Bayern Munich after the striker's historic four-goal haul at the Westfalenstadion.

“Out of the whole world, he plays for Dortmund,” Klopp said with a smile, “I am pretty sure he will stay.”Listing the qualities of the Poland international, Klopp described “His quality, his mentality, his physical fitness, how he thinks about football, and how cool he is.”

As well as Dortmund played, Klopp was keen to point out that the tie was not finished yet. “Nothing is decided,” he said, “this is only half time and we know we will have to work unbelievably hard in Madrid.”

“We have to work and defend and shoot and play football, it's not important if it's a big or small step tonight but that we are still in the competition.”

Despite departures and rumours of departures, Klopp was certain that his team would not lose their focus ahead of a possible first Champions League final since 1997.

“We lost each year one brilliant players, better and better and better,” he said, referring to the departures of Nuri Sahin, Shinji Kagawa and now Götze. “It's not a problem in the team, we know we have to be concentrated for next match, next year. The mentality of team is to enjoy each day we are together and see where we are at the end of he season.”

Independent News Service

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport