Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Cech prepared for Courtois battle

Published 25/07/2014 | 11:34

Petr Cech has a fight on his hands to be Chelsea's number one this season
Petr Cech has a fight on his hands to be Chelsea's number one this season

Petr Cech is determined to fight for his place as his decade-long reign as Chelsea's preferred goalkeeper comes under threat for the first time.

Belgium's highly-rated World Cup stopper Thibaut Courtois joins the Blues squad next week having completed a successful three-year loan spell at Atletico Madrid.

Courtois has been described by Blues boss Jose Mourinho as the "best young goalkeeper in the world".

The 22-year-old was outstanding last season when he helped Atletico win the Spanish league title and reach the Champions League final, eliminating Chelsea at the semi-final stage in the process.

Cech has accepted the challenge by telling Mourinho he is ready to prove he should still be first choice.

"I always give my best. That's all I can do," Cech told reporters on the club's pre-season tour of Austria.

"I will do my best and I will do everything I can to be as ready as possible for when the season starts.

"Jose Mourinho will make the choice how his team is going to look for the first game.

"It's up to us players to show that we are ready to play and make him pick us. I'm not different, I'm doing everything to make him pick me.

"I don't want to be on the bench and as I said I will do everything not to be.

"I don't want to talk about ifs or buts though, let's see. I'm going day by day and we will see what is going to happen.

"All I have in my control is my performance on the pitch and the way I prepare. Anything else is not in my hands."

Cech made his first appearance since dislocating his shoulder in April when Chelsea were held to a 1-1 draw with WAC in Austria.

"It was great to be back. I'm further ahead than what we thought it might have been which is another positive thing," Cech said.

"The third positive thing is that I felt like I never stopped.

"When you play your first pre-season game you get used to the space again and the pace of the game but I felt fit."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport