Sport Soccer

Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Carrick gets hungrier for more

Published 23/04/2013 | 22:46

Michael Carrick insists Manchester United are hungry for more success
Michael Carrick insists Manchester United are hungry for more success

Michael Carrick has warned Manchester United's Premier League title rivals the newly-crowned champions will be even hungrier for success next season.

United will not reclaim the trophy they regard as theirs until after their May 12 meeting with Swansea at Old Trafford. Yet already they are looking towards a title defence that if past seasons are anything to go by, should be far more convincing than the one Manchester City managed this season.

"I definitely want more," said Carrick. "The season is not over yet, we haven't even got the trophy. But when we come back next year, we will be as hungry as ever."

He added: "I said before I came here that if I won a league that would have meant everything to me.

"Strange as it seemed, as soon as I won that first title it left me hungry for more. The satisfaction of winning is such a good feeling you want it again and again, and you get hungrier to win it again."

It is the attitude Sir Alex Ferguson instilled into his squad through his insatiable quest for perfection.

The concept is nothing new either. In 1983, Ferguson's response to Aberdeen beating Rangers in the Scottish Cup final was to brand his team's performance "disgraceful" and "unacceptable".

By his own admission, Ferguson has mellowed since those days.

But, as Carrick has seen with others in the past, any player who does not share their manager's philosophy is not destined to have a particularly long Old Trafford shelf life.

"The manager drives that attitude and it rubs off on the players," said Carrick. "To be honest it happens quite quickly. If it doesn't you are not going to be successful here. When I arrived, I tried to copy the example of the senior players. As I get older, I try to set an example for the younger boys."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport