Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Berbatov key man as Jol asks for more

FULHAM 1 STOKE CITY 0

Mark Bryans

Published 24/02/2013 | 04:00

Martin Jol is now hoping for a flood of goals from striker Dimitar Berbatov. In a game of few clearcut chances, it was Berbatov who made the difference with a well-executed finish in first-half stoppage time.

 

Martin Jol is now hoping for a flood of goals from striker Dimitar Berbatov. In a game of few clearcut chances, it was Berbatov who made the difference with a well-executed finish in first-half stoppage time.

Jonathan Walters missed a second-half penalty for the visitors who had struggled to get into the game before the interval and are now only a point ahead of the Cottagers in the table.

The winner was Berbatov's ninth goal of the season after moving from Manchester United, and Jol reckons he can score many more before the end of the campaign.

"Hopefully he will score other goals but we have other players," he said. "Mladen Petric has scored six goals without playing a lot, so we have got more players who can make a difference but Dimitar certainly made a difference today.

"He always scores between 15-25 goals and it would be silly to think he won't score 15-20 goals for us and that is what I always had in mind."

Jol felt his side had the better of the contest but was grateful for Mark Schwarzer's penalty save as Stoke went close to salvaging a point.

Stoke boss Tony Pulis said his side were still not safe from relegation. He said they would not accept they were staying up "until we get 40 points, and we are still seven away". He said: "That will be the watershed and always is for me."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport