Sport Soccer

Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Bayern stars enjoy first taste of Guardiola's tiki-taka

Published 27/06/2013 | 05:00

Guardiola: First Bayern session
Guardiola: First Bayern session

An estimated 8,000 Bayern Munich fans greeted new coach Pep Guardiola with cheers and applause when he took charge of his first training session at the club.

Such was the interest in seeing the 42-year-old Spaniard in action, that Bayern has taken the unusual step of holding open training sessions for the first two days at their 69,000-seater stadium.

Guardiola smiled at the warm reception, exchanged pleasantries with his staff, and quickly got to work, leading simple one-touch passing routines in line with the former Barcelona manager's tiki-taka style.

"We did a lot with the ball. It was fun," said Bayern attacking midfielder Thomas Mueller.

Guardiola had most of his new squad available, including the German national team members, but excluding Brazilians Dante and Luiz Gustavo as well as Spain's Javi Martinez who are at the Confederations Cup.

Bastian Schweinsteiger, who was supposed to take part in light training exercises following an operation on his foot, could only watch from the sidelines.

But midfielder Toni Kroos returned to training for the first time since tearing adductor muscles in his thigh.

Mario Gomez trained despite reports linking the Germany striker with a switch to Italian side Fiorentina. Gomez's contract runs to 2016, but the 27-year-old is reportedly unhappy with his role as a substitute, and Bayern have made no secret of their intention to sign Robert Lewandowski from Dortmund.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport