Saturday 2 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Fri 01st July

Today's Fixtures

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00

Wed 06th July

Portugal POR

Wales WAL

20:00


Barton sees Marseille future

Published 09/04/2013 | 21:46

Joey Barton revealed that he would not be going back to QPR regardless of their league status
Joey Barton revealed that he would not be going back to QPR regardless of their league status

Joey Barton claims he will still be a Marseille player next season as an agreement already exists with QPR.

  • Go To

Barton is currently on loan with the Ligue 1 club, who took him on in August while he served a 12-match ban incurred during the last game of the 2011/12 season against Manchester City.

The midfielder, who is a frequent and controversial user of Twitter, used the social networking site to reveal that he would not be going back to Loftus Road regardless of their league status and that OM are now "in his blood".

Over a series of Tweets he insisted he held no grudges against QPR, made a pointed jibe at former boss Mark Hughes and referenced an apparent deal between Rangers and Marseille for his services.

"Some strange people think that I'll be playing in the Championship next season?? Good one! QPR might, I won't! #fact," he wrote.

"It's not up to QPR if I stay. Agreement already in place for me to stay here. Can't see QPR wanting me on the wage bill in the Champ.

"My QPR career was over when they decided to listen to the footballing sage, Mark of Hughes...

"I'm loving life in France. Loving Marseille. They love me. All I want to do is give everything for this football club. They backed me when nobody else did, for that I will be eternally grateful. This club is now in my blood, its impossible to get it out (sic) #ForzaOM.

"I really hope they (QPR) stay up. I have all season. Stay up/go down. Harry stays/goes. I don't want to be part of it. Marseille is my home now."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport