Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Barcelona become the first club to reach 50 million Facebook fans

Published 04/01/2014 | 11:30

Barcelona's Lionel Messi (L) is congratulated by team mate Cesc Fabregas after scoring his second goal against AC Milan during their Champions League soccer match at Nou Camp stadium in Barcelona November 6, 2013. REUTERS/Gustau Nacarino (SPAIN - Tags: SPORT SOCCER)
Barcelona's Lionel Messi (L) is congratulated by team mate Cesc Fabregas after scoring his second goal against AC Milan during their Champions League soccer match at Nou Camp stadium in Barcelona November 6, 2013. REUTERS/Gustau Nacarino (SPAIN - Tags: SPORT SOCCER)

Barcelona this week became the first sports club to reach 50 million followers on Facebook, the Spanish champions revealed.

  • Go To

Barca's Facebook page, which provides fans with photo and video content, has the most followers in Indonesia with 4.73 million, followed by Mexico (3.5 million), Brazil (2.5 million), United States (2.1 million) and Turkey (1.75 million), the club said on their website.

Cairo is the city with the most Barca followers with 746,000, followed by Mexico City (666,000), Jakarta (623,000), Lima (481,000) and Bogota (420,000).

"Being the first sports club in the world to reach 50 million Facebook fans is a source of pride and at the same time a responsibility towards our followers," said Didac Lee, a Barca director responsible for new technology.

"Barca is the world's most popular club and this is just the latest evidence of that," he added.

Barca said their Facebook page was among the 30 most followed overall, although they have some way to go to catch some of the world's more popular artists, including singer Rihanna on 82 million and rapper Eminem with just under 80 million.

Colombian pop diva Shakira, whose partner Gerard Pique plays for Barca and Spain, has almost 77 million followers.

Real Madrid are not far behind bitter rivals Barca with 46.7 million, while Real's Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo has nearly 69 million and Barca's Argentine World Player of the Year Lionel Messi 52 million.

Reuters

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport