Sport Soccer

Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Baines 'key cog' in Everton team

Published 24/04/2013 | 15:51

Leighton Baines has had another excellent season for Everton
Leighton Baines has had another excellent season for Everton

Left-back Leighton Baines is Everton's "key cog" and deserves more credit than he gets, according to goalkeeper Tim Howard.

The England defender has had another excellent season but his performances did not do enough to see him recognised by his fellow professionals in the PFA Player of the Year nominations. None of the six selected are defenders but Howard insisted Baines' contribution was vital to the team.

"With Bainesy at left-back it's not a glamour position and I think it's hard sometimes to see just how effective he is," he said.

"He's our key cog. We've got (Marouane) Fellaini and (Steven) Pienaar and those guys, and obviously Kevin Mirallas, can produce a bit of magic.

"But without Bainesy this team doesn't go. It's just hard sometimes for people on the outside to see that."

Howard insists the squad have not felt sorry for themselves after last weekend's defeat at Sunderland effectively ended their chase for Champions League qualification.

European football is still a slim hope for David Moyes' side through fifth place in the league, although that looks increasingly more difficult as they trail Tottenham by five points having played one match more.

"We won't let one setback knock us," Howard told evertonTV ahead of this weekend's visit of Fulham, against whom they have won 12 and drawn one of their 13 meetings at Goodison Park.

"We have to perform at home, we know that, and when you are on your home pitch you have to push the tempo."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport