Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Baggies sign Lescott

Published 20/06/2014 | 11:20

Joleon Lescott has joined West Brom
Joleon Lescott has joined West Brom

West Brom have announced the signing of defender Joleon Lescott on a two-year contract.

  • Go To

The England international joins the Baggies as a free agent from July 1 after ending his five-year spell at Manchester City.

The 31-year-old won two Premier League titles at the Etihad and takes a wealth of experience with him to the midlands.

The Baggies said in a statement that Lescott's deal has the option of a further year.

He becomes the first signing of new head coach Alan Irvine - the Scot who worked closesly with Lescott at Everton.

"I'm delighted we've been able to agree a deal with Joleon," said Irvine.

"He's an England international and a proven Premier League player, who has been at the top level for a number of years.

"He's got Premier League and cup medals to his name and has had a fantastic career so far.

"When we realised he was available and there was a realistic chance of getting him here we started to work very hard on it.

"Full credit to the board and everyone at the club for getting this done as quickly and effectively as they did.

"I know Joleon and the type of personality and character he is, in addition to knowing what he can do as a player.

"He's a great professional and he will add to a number of very good professionals who are already in the squad."

Lescott had been linked with a move to Hull but the 26-cap England man has settled on a move to the Black Country - the place where he started his career with West Brom's bitter rivals Wolves.

He follows Craig Gardner in signing for the club so far this summer.

Lescott left Wolves for Everton and then moved to Manchester City for £22million in 2009. After initially being a regular, he found opportunities harder to come by in the latter stages of his time with the Blues.

He has made 538 career appearances and scored 39 goals.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport