Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1

Portugal POR 1

Ongoing

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Baggies rule out player sales

Published 09/06/2014 | 18:47

George Thorne is piquing Derby's interest
George Thorne is piquing Derby's interest

Managerless West Brom have warned rivals they have no intention of selling players and will fend off all approaches as they seek to keep their squad intact.

  • Go To

The Baggies are still looking for a successor for Pepe Mel, who left the club at the end of the season just four months after taking over from Steve Clarke.

But having rejected Derby's offer to sign George Thorne - who signed an improved three-and-a-half-year deal in January - after the 21-year-old spent a successful loan spell with the Rams, the club felt it necessary to publicly state their position.

"George has progressed through the academy into the first-team squad and we have high hopes for him," said technical director Terry Burton in a statement.

"He underlined his potential while on loan at Derby and we have no intentions of selling him.

"We have told Derby he is not for sale and that is the end of the matter as far as we're concerned.

"The same goes for all of our players. We are not looking to sell anyone.

"Our only aim is to strengthen our squad this summer - not weaken it."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport