Sport Soccer

Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Baggies add Day to staff

Published 02/07/2014 | 18:37

Mervyn Day is West Brom's latest backroom addition
Mervyn Day is West Brom's latest backroom addition

West Brom have tasked Mervyn Day with taking the risk out of recruitment.

  • Go To

The 59-year-old former West Ham, Leyton Orient, Aston Villa, Leeds and Carlisle goalkeeper has been appointed as the club's new head of recruitment and will work alongside technical director Terry Burton and newly-appointed manager Alan Irvine to identify potential signings.

Burton said: "I'm delighted we have been able to appoint Mervyn.

"He is well-respected in the game and scouts who have worked under him speak highly of him as a man of integrity and trust.

"He comes here with a wealth of experience and knowledge, and will undoubtedly help us identify players and improve our recruitment processes.

"Our aim is to de-risk the signing of new players. We have got some good people in the recruitment department who have worked tirelessly to identify players, but we will be constantly reviewing how we operate."

Chelmsford-born Day joins the Baggies after leaving his role as head of scouting and recruitment at Brighton at the end of last season.

He has previously worked as number two to Alan Curbishley at both West Ham and Charlton and as the Football Association's senior scout, Leeds' chief scout and senior scout at Fulham twice, and he had a brief spell in management in his own right at Carlisle.

Day said: "This is a magnificent opportunity for me and I am really looking forward to it.

"I've known Terry and Alan for a number of years from coaching courses and being in opposition dug-outs.

"There is a nice feel to the club, it is an exciting challenge and the infrastructure is here to go on to bigger and better things."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport