Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 1

Spain ESP 0

Ongoing

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


AVB: Lamela needs time to adjust

Published 28/10/2013 | 14:51

Erik Lamela has featured only sparingly for Spurs since his summer arrival
Erik Lamela has featured only sparingly for Spurs since his summer arrival

Tottenham manager Andre Villas-Boas believes the language barrier is preventing club-record signing Erik Lamela from hitting the ground running at White Hart Lane.

The 21-year-old Argentina international, signed from Roma in the summer for a fee believed to be close to £30million, has featured only sparingly for Spurs and has yet to be handed a start in the Barclays Premier League.

Lamela was an unused substitute in Sunday's 1-0 win over Hull and the former River Plate forward has had to make do with looking to have an impact in Europa League ties.

He is yet to score his first goal for the club and, with limited game time the summer signing has not had the immediate impact many supporters would have expected.

But when asked if the fee paid for Lamela meant there was pressure to pick him, Villas-Boas replied: "Not really, no.

"We have been speaking a lot with him. I think getting acquainted to the Premier League is important but he doesn't know the language. (Roberto) Soldado had some knowledge of the language before (he came) so it was a little bit easier for him.

"With Erik it was a little bit more difficult but we have given him massive, massive help and his family arrived this week.

"He knows he isn't producing half of what he can produce but he understands the situation now is that he has to compete for his place."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport