Sport Soccer

Sunday 26 March 2017

and the winner is...

Manchester United's victory set down a marker for the title contenders.

In five of the last six seasons the winner of the Community Shield has gone on to win the Premier League.

Shield/Title winners

2005-06 Chelsea/Chelsea

2006-07 Liverpool/Man United

2007-08 Man United/Man United

2008-09 Man United/Man United

2009-10 Chelsea/Chelsea

2010-11 Man United/Man United

2011-12 Man United/???

Irish Independent

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport