Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Allardyce to give Morrison a chance

Published 30/07/2014 | 11:49

West Ham midfielder Ravel Morrison ended last season on loan at QPR
West Ham midfielder Ravel Morrison ended last season on loan at QPR

Sam Allardyce appears to have fallen into line with the West Ham board over the future of Ravel Morrison - if the midfielder works hard enough.

The 21-year-old looked to be set for a season on the fringes of the Hammers' first-team with Allardyce unconvinced by the attitude of the former Manchester United youngster.

But co-chairman David Sullivan publicly disagreed with Allardyce, insisting the club were keen to tie Morrison down to a long-term contract.

''Sam has said Ravel is not part of his plans but we do - as a board - see him as part of our plans,'' Sullivan said last week.

''I think he (Allardyce) said in a press conference, if I read it correctly, he's not part of his plans for this season. I think he said that in New Zealand but we don't agree with that. We would like to sit down and give him a longer contract.

''We do see him as part of the long-term future of the club but we have to agree it with the manager because there's no point signing a player he's not going to play.''

Having broken into the first-team at the start of last season, Morrison's star seemed to be on the rise as he endeared himself to West Ham fans after scoring a memorable goal in a 3-0 win at rivals Tottenham.

But his form waned following a niggling groin injury, which has now been treated with a minor operation, and he ended the season on loan at QPR with his future at Upton Park in question.

But now Allardyce, who saw Enner Valencia become his fifth summer signing after being granted a work permit on Tuesday, has backed the England Under-21 international to come good again.

"We thought we'd brought Ravel to the forefront of his abilities this time last season," he told talkSPORT.

"He had a fantastic pre-season and started the season very well. That drifted away a bit and he ended up at QPR, helping them get promoted.

"If he gets back to knuckling down, and getting used to the discipline side of the game, then his talents are outstanding."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport