Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Ajax keep hopes alive with Barcelona win

AJAX 2 BARCELONA 1

Published 27/11/2013 | 22:53

Lionel Messi
Lionel Messi

Ajax kept themselves in contention to qualify for the knockout stages after becoming the first side to beat Barcelona this season.

  • Go To

Impressive strikes from Thulani Serero and Danny Hoesen gave Ajax a surprise half-time lead, but straight after the break defender Joel Veltman was red-carded for a foul on Neymar and Xavi pulled a goal back from the penalty spot not long after.

Injury-plagued Barcelona applied pressure in search of an equaliser but Ajax held out to thunderous applause from a capacity cword.

Ajax stay third in the group, one point behind AC Milan, whom they must now beat away on December 11 if they are to advance. Barcelona, without injured Lionel Messi, need one point from their match against Celtic at the Camp Nou to make sure of top place in the group .

An Ajax fan was seriously injured when he fell from the upper tier of the stand as he as celebrated their second goal. Two ambulances crashed into each other as they rushed to attend the stricken fan.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport