Sport

Tuesday 16 September 2014

Simon Dyson facing ban for rules violation in Shanghai

Phil Casey

Published 31/10/2013 | 11:19

  • Share
Simon Dyson

Simon Dyson could face a ban from the European Tour after being summoned to appear before a disciplinary panel following his disqualification from the BMW Masters last week.

  • Share
  • Go To

Dyson was joint second at Lake Malaren when he was disqualified for signing for an incorrect score in the second round, an incident he had "no recollection" of according to tournament officials.

The 35-year-old failed to add a two-shot penalty to his card after an incident on the eighth hole, when he touched the line of his putt after marking his ball.

Having reviewed the incident, European Tour officials concluded that further action was required under the Tour's code of behaviour and disciplinary procedure, which states: "3. Serious Breach. If, at the conclusion of an investigation into an alleged breach of the code by a member, it is evident that a serious breach of the code may have occurred, then a disciplinary hearing shall take place before an independent disciplinary panel."

Under European Tour regulations, the three-person panel will comprise an independent lawyer, an ex-member of the European Tour or current player on the European Senior Tour and an experienced sports administrator.

The player in question will then be asked to appear before the disciplinary panel at a hearing that will be convened on at least 21 days' notice to the player. Dyson is expected to notified officially of the hearing shortly.

If Dyson is found guilty of a serious breach of the code, the Tour's statement added that it can impose sanctions which range from "a reprimand, a censure, a fine, a suspension of membership, a suspension from participation in one or more tournaments or for a given period, or expulsion from the European Tour, or otherwise as the panel shall determine."

In a statement released by his management company, Dyson said: "I have been informed of the procedure being put in place by the Tour following my actions during the second round of the BMW Masters in Shanghai last week and am perfectly happy to co-operate with the investigation by the independent disciplinary panel.

"I would like to say at this stage that I have never deliberately broken the rules either on this occasion or in the past. It was only after I was shown the replay of my action after marking the ball on the eighth green during the second round that I realised what I had done and that I was in breach. I immediately accepted that I should be disqualified.

"My action was in no way a deliberate act with the intention of breaking the rules. It was simply an accidental mistake which I have no reservations in apologising for and particularly to my fellow professionals and the Tour for any inconvenience and embarrassment unintentionally caused."

At the time of the incident, European Tour chief referee John Paramor said in a statement: "Simon Dyson has been disqualified from the BMW Masters presented by SRE Group under the rules of golf (6-6d). Simon was found to have breached rule 16-1a, which states that a player must not touch his line of putt.

"Television viewers alerted the European Tour to the incident, which took place on the eighth green during the second round, and when the footage was reviewed Simon was seen to touch the line of his second putt after marking and lifting his ball on the green.

"He subsequently failed to add a two-shot penalty to his score when signing his card, and as a result has now been disqualified."

Paramor added on www.europeantour.com: "We reviewed the footage with Simon today and there was no other option but to advise him that he was in breach of rule 16 1-a and that does lead to disqualification because he signed for a wrong score yesterday.

"He was bitterly disappointed, he had no way of explaining why or how he came to do what he did; he had no recollection of it till I showed him and even then he said 'I can't even remember doing it.' It's a very sad thing and unfortunately his event is over."

Press Association

Read More

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport