Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Shifting sights set on Guineas

Published 20/05/2014 | 13:27

Shifting Power
Shifting Power

Richard Hannon expects the stiff nature of the Curragh to bring out the best in Shifting Power, who has been supplemented for the Tattersalls Irish 2,000 Guineas.

  • Go To

The colt defied his 50-1 starting price to finish fourth, beaten only three lengths by stablemate Night Of Thunder, in the first Classic of the season at Newmarket.

While Night Of Thunder heads for the St James's Palace at Royal Ascot, Shifting Power will meet Guineas second Kingman again on Saturday, and Hannon hopes more emphasis on stamina in Ireland can help his Free Handicap winner repay connections' faith.

"We supplemented. He ran very well in the English Guineas to finish fourth and was running on," Hannon told At The Races.

"I think the track will suit him at the Curragh. It doesn't suit us too much that Kingman's going, but there you go.

"He has to go, we can go up to a mile and a quarter later on but I think he's well worth his chance and if he finishes in the (first) three, we get our money back. I think the track will really suit him.

"Our Guineas is always the best race, the champion two-year-old ran and just because our horse won at 40-1 people think something went wrong.

"Our horse (Night Of Thunder) started over on the far side with Kingman and ended up on the near side. I'm not saying he's going to go through the season unbeaten, but I don't think there was much fluke about it."

Shifting Power's addition to the Classic means there are 16 possibles for the race.

As expected, John Gosden's Kingman remains in the mix but he is the only other challenger from Britain.

Aidan O'Brien has left in War Command, Fountain Of Youth, Great White Eagle, Johann Strauss and Michaelmas.

Dermot Weld still has Alkasser and Mustajeeb in contention, while Ger Lyons has left in Obliterator but warned on Monday he was an unlikely runner unless there was good in the going.

Prince Of All, Mandatario and Big Time are others to note.

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport