Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Sean Dougall preferred to Tommy O'Donnell as Donnacha Ryan misses out on Toulon test

Published 25/04/2014 | 12:25

Munster team to face Toulon: 15. Felix Jones
Munster team to face Toulon: 15. Felix Jones
13. Keith Earls
13. Casey Laulala
12. James Downey
11. Simon Zebo
10. Ian Keatley
9. Conor Murray
8. James Coughlan
7. Sean Dougall
6. CJ Stander
5. Paul O'Connell
4. Dave Foley
3. BJ Botha
2. Damien Varley
1. Dave Kilcoyne

Rob Penney has chosen Sean Dougall ahead of Tommy O'Donnell at openside flanker for Munster's Heineken Cup semi-final showdown with holders Toulon at the Stade Velodrome on Sunday

  • Go To

The decision to choose Dougall is a huge gamble for Penney and an indication that Munster will be looking to negate the influence of the inspirational Steffon Armitage.

It had been hoped the Donnacha Ryan would return to the fray but he hasn't recovered and doesn't make the matchday 23.

Donnacha Ryan, who has been battling with a foot injury since the Treviso game in March, did take part in this week's training programme but misses out.

In an amazing feat of recovery, JJ Hanrahan has recovered from a groin tear and takes his place on the bench as cover for Ian Keatley.

There are no other surprises to the team.

Meanwhile, Jonny Wilkinson has recovered from the hamstring injury that troubled him for the past month and will captain Toulon in Marseille.

He takes over from Frederic Michalak who drops out of the squad all together despite impressing in the Top 14 for the past three weeks.

Steffon Armitage remains at Number 8 with his brother Delon at full-back. Bryan Habana continues his return to action and will start in third consecutive game on the left wing for the Heineken Cup champions.

Munster team to play Toulon: (15-9) Felix Jones; Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray;(1-8) Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley (C), BJ Botha ; Dave Foley, Paul O'Connell; CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan.

Replacements: (16-23) Duncan Casey, James Cronin, John Ryan, Donncha O'Callaghan, Tommy O'Donnell, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Denis Hurley.

Toulon team to play Munster: (15-9) Delon Armitage;  Drew Mitchell, Mathieu Bastareaud, Matt Giteau, Bryan Habana; Jonny Wilkinson (c), Sebastien Tillous-Borde; (8-1) Steffon Armitage, Juan Fernandez Lobbe, Juan Smith; Jocelino Suta, Danie Rossouw; Carl Hayman, Craig Burden, Xavier Chiocci.

Replacements: (16 -23) Jean-Charles Orioli, Alexandre Menini, Martin Castrogiovanni, Virgile Bruni, David Smith, Maxime Mermoz, Michael Claassens,  Konstantine Mikautadze.

Date: Sunday, April 27

Kick-off:15:30

Venue: Stade Vélodrome, Marseilles

Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)

Assistant referees: JP Doyle (England), Luke Pearce (England)

Television match official: Graham Hughes (England)

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport