Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

REPORT

Today's Fixtures

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


No charges for Germany fans who wore black make-up during Ghana game

Martyn Ziegler

Published 24/06/2014 | 16:49

Germany fans with their faces painted black before the game with Ghana on Saturday
Germany fans with their faces painted black before the game with Ghana on Saturday

FIFA says it cannot bring charges over German fans wearing black face make-up during the match against Ghana.

  • Go To

Several fans who were pictured with blackened faces were reported to FIFA by the anti-discrimination group FARE but no action will be taken

A FIFA spokeswoman said: "There is no legal or factual element justifying the opening of disciplinary proceedings.

"But we abhor any insulting or discriminatory behaviour and we strongly appeal to all fans, teams and officials to uphold that spirit."

FIFA's disciplinary panel on Monday cleared Mexico's FA of improper conduct after the organisation received complaints that some of their fans shouted 'Puto' at opposing keepers, saying under the current rules the federation was not responsible.

Meanwhile, FIFA's director of television Niclas Ericson admitted producers had made a mistake when they overlaid a line on TV replays suggesting Brazil striker Fred was offside when he scored against Cameroon.

The line showed that he was in front of the last Cameroon defender but did not make clear he was behind the ball when it was crossed by David Luiz.

He told a news conference in Rio de Janeiro: "We are discussing why that line was drawn wrongly - mistakes can happen."

Online Editors

Read More

Video highlights of every #RWC15 match

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport