Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

France FRA 2

Rep of Ireland IRL 1

REPORT

Germany GER 3

Slovakia SVK 0

Ongoing

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00


Ulster make two new signings for next season

Published 13/06/2014 | 10:33

Ulster's head Coach Mark Anscombe
Ulster's head Coach Mark Anscombe

Ulster Rugby today confirmed the signings of talented young back row players Charlie Butterworth and Sean Reidy ahead of next season.

Butterworth, who can operate as an openside or blindside flanker, joins on a one year contract from Ulster Bank League outfit Landsdowne. The 23 year old Wicklow native was a key player as the Dublin side won the Division 1A title in 2012/13.

Reidy has signed a short term deal with the Province after impressing with Counties Manukau Steelers in New Zealand. The 25 year old can play across the back row and is Irish qualified through his Grandfather who hailed from Castlegregory, County Kerry.

Butterworth is delighted to have signed a first professional contract: "I can't wait to get started, it will be brilliant to be involved. Ulster are one of the best teams in Europe, if not the world, at the moment and it was a no-brainer once David Humphreys offered me the contract. When I got the chance to go up and have a look at the facilities I was just really blown away. It's a top class stadium; everything is state-of-the-art and I can't wait to start training."

Reidy is also relishing the prospect of joining the Ulster squad for pre-season: "I had heard a lot about Ulster before I signed; they are a club with a lot of history and tradition but have done really well in their competitions recently and are a team on the up. It's a great opportunity for me to go over and learn from the coaches and try to develop my game."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport