Friday 24 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Supporters enjoy fan-tastic day

Published 03/02/2014 | 02:30

Father and son Adrian and Diarmuid Nolan at the Ireland-Scotland match
Father and son Adrian and Diarmuid Nolan at the Ireland-Scotland match
Shannon Coco and Simon Greene at the game
Lorraine Heneghan, Donna Cormican, Patricia McGinty and Owen McGinty (13) at the game

Father and son Adrian and Diarmuid Nolan (6) were among the excited fans who enjoyed the day out at the Aviva Stadium.

"I was a bit worried following Scotland's performance last year, but I'm delighted Ireland did so well today," Adrian said. "We did miss O'Brien and O'Connell on the pitch but the team managed just super without them too. A great day out and hopefully there's plenty more of them to come."

"It was a brilliant day for Ireland," said Erin Byrne, who was there with friends Stephanie Kehoe, Valerie Timmins, Edel Hayden and Lisa Doyle (all from Dublin) "We know Heaslip won it today but Rob Kearney will always be our man of the match."

Simon Greene (from Dublin) was there with his partner Shannon Coco (from the USA). "Ireland had a great game. In the second half they came out with guns blazing.

Brothers Oliver and Andrew Salvesen from Edinburgh were not so happy.

“We're disappointed of course but being a Scottish supporter you get used to that. They didn't fire as many shots as we'd have liked but Ireland probably, well definitely, deserved to win.”

Dubliners Lorraine Heneghan, Donna Cormican, Patrica McGinty and Owen McGinty (13) had a great day. "Three cheers for Ireland!" Donna said. "Our first time at the Aviva Stadium and it was a great result to get. Owen got his ticket today through Crumlin Children's Hospital and I've never seen a happier kid."

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport