Thursday 30 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Two changes for Wales in second test against South Africa

Published 19/06/2014 | 13:48

Wales' Mike Phillips
Wales' Mike Phillips

Warren Gatland has made just two changes to his starting XV for Wales' second Test match against South Africa on Saturday.

  • Go To

Samson Lee, who makes his first start for the side, comes into the front row for veteran Adam Jones, who is dropped from the squad completely.

The other change sees Josh Turnbull replace Aaron Shingler at flanker.

Mike Phillips retains his place at scrum-half in an unchanged back-line while captain Alun Wyn Jones will make his 80th Wales appearance alongside Luke Charteris in the second row.

Gatland's side were beaten 38-16 in Durban last Saturday and the Wales head coach wants his players to bounce back.

"We have been really happy with the response from the players during training this week, we have had a good week and we see Saturday as an opportunity to right the wrongs of last weekend," Gatland told the Welsh Rugby Union's official website.

"We were disappointed with last week's display but we want to finish the season with a big performance and show what we know we are capable of.

"It's a great opportunity for Samson and Josh and they deserve the chance after impressing from the bench last weekend."

Wales team to face South Africa: L Williams, A Cuthbert, J Davies, J Roberts, G North, D Biggar, M Phillips, G Jenkins, K Owens, S Lee, L Charteris, A Wyn Jones, D Lydiate, J Turnbull, T Faletau.

Replacements: M Rees, P James, A Jarvis, J Ball, D Baker, G Davies, J Hook, M Morgan.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport