Sport Six Nations

Thursday 2 October 2014

Schmidt keeps faith with same starting XV side for England showdown at Twickenham

Jordi Murphy is the surprise inclusion in Joe Schmidt’s matchday 23 for Saturday’s Triple Crown decider against England

Published 20/02/2014 | 12:26

  • Share
Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt
Ireland Head Coach Joe Schmidt
12 February 2014; Leinster's Jordi Murphy during a press conference ahead of their side's Celtic League 2013/14, Round 14, match against Newport Gwent Dragons on Friday. Leinster Rugby Captain's Run and Press Conference, RDS, Ballsbridge, Dublin. Picture credit: Brendan Moran / SPORTSFILE
Jordi Murphy says Leinster can profit from the feelgood factor surrounding Ireland's Six Nations success so far

JORDI MURPHY is the surprise inclusion in Joe Schmidt’s matchday 23 for Saturday’s Triple Crown decider against England as the Ireland coach named an unchanged starting team for the Twickenham clash.

  • Share
  • Go To

The Leinster back-row will replace Munster’s Tommy O’Donnell on the replacements bench in one of two changes to the squad as Iain Henderson comes in for his injured Ulster teammate Dan Tuohy as second row cover.

Otherwise it’s as you were for the New Zealander who has named the same team back-to-back for the first time as Ireland coach as Brian O’Driscoll has been cleared to play having missed training earlier this week with a bug.

Defence Les Kiss said earlier this week that he was unhappy with the contribution the bench made to the defensive effort and O’Donnell looks like being the victim of that. Schmidt also promised change in the aftermath of the win over Wales, but he has kept things to a minimum for the clash where a win would seal his first trophy as coach.

O’Driscoll’s final appearance at Twickenham will see him join George Gregan as the most capped rugby player of all time on 139 caps.

England have also kept changes to a minimum, with David Wilson coming in for the injured Dan Coles

IRELAND team to face England – Rob Kearney; Andrew Trimble, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, David Kearney; Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray; Cian Healy, Rory Best, Mike Ross; Devin Toner, Paul O’Connell (capt); Peter O’Mahony, Chris Henry, Jamie Heaslip. Reps: Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, Marty Moore, Iain Henderson, Jordi Murphy, Isaac Boss, Paddy Jackson, Fergus McFadden.

Read More

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport