Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Paul O'Connell ruled out as Dan Tuohy called into Irish team

Published 02/02/2014 | 14:26

Talisman Paul O'Connell was ruled out of Ireland's RBS 6 Nations opener with a chest infection
Talisman Paul O'Connell was ruled out of Ireland's RBS 6 Nations opener with a chest infection

Ireland captain and talisman Paul O'Connell was forced to pull out of his side's RBS 6 Nations opener against Scotland after suffering a chest infection on Saturday night.

Ulster lock Dan Tuohy stepped up in the second row, while Iain Henderson took a seat on the bench.

Number eight Jamie Heaslip captained Ireland in O'Connell's absence, in what was head coach Joe Schmidt's first-ever Six Nations encounter. Brian O'Driscoll also surpassed Ronan O'Gara as Ireland's most-capped player with 129 appearances.

Full-back Rob Kearney notched 50 caps with Leinster prop Martin Moore the sole uncapped player in Ireland's match squad.

Scotland captain Kelly Brown equalled Doddie Weir's 61-appearance record as the most-capped product of Melrose RFC.

Ireland were gunning to end a four-match Six Nations losing streak, and banish the memory of their agonising 24-22 New Zealand defeat in the final autumn Test.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport