Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


No place for Tommy Bowe in Irish squad but Simon Zebo earns recall

Published 02/03/2014 | 18:32

Simon Zebo earns recall to Irish squad for Italian clash.
Simon Zebo earns recall to Irish squad for Italian clash.

Joe Schmidt has resisted the temptation to call-up Tommy Bowe for next weekend’s game with Italy, but Simon Zebo does return to the fold.

  • Go To

Bowe was in sparkling form for Ulster at the weekend as they defeated the Dragons, but his try-scoring exploits were not enough to earn a place in a 33-man squad.

He tightened up after 30 minutes on Friday night but finished the half as planned and will continue to follow a staged return to play programme

Munster back Zebo is rewarded for his fine form with a recall at the expense of provincial teammate Felix Jones who took a knock to the knee against the Scarlets and will be unavailable to train this week.

Tommy O’Donnell, Isaac Boss and Luke Marshall were not considered for squad selection.

O’Donnell received a stinger at the weekend and is facing a week's recovery whiloe the Leinster scrum half has been given a week off after not having a break since the start of the season.

The IRFU confirmed that Marshall sustained a confirmed concussion against Dragons on Friday night and the Ulster Medical Team will manage the centre through the return to play protocols this week.


Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster)

Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)

Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster)

Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)

David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Mike McCarthy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jack McGrath (St. Mary's College/Leinster)

Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster)

Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster)

Rhys Ruddock (St Mary's College/Leinster)

Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)

Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)

Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)


Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)

Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)

David Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)

Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)

Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)

Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster)

Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Jonathan Sexton (Racing Metro 92)

Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster)

Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport