Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Cormac Byrne: Healy could be the victim of poor timing at hearing

Published 13/02/2013 | 12:49

CIAN Healy could be the victim of poor timing with the IRB no doubt keeping a close eye on how the Six Nations independent disciplinary hearing deal with the Irish prop.

The IRB was far from pleased during the autumn internationals when New Zealand’s Adam Thomson got off with a one-week ban for stamping on the head of Scotland flanker Alasdair Strokosch, a hearing that was handled by a Six Nations committee.

 

The leniency of the ban triggered widespread condemnation in the rugby world and led the International Rugby Board to review to their disciplinary process.

 

The chairman of the Six Nations committee, Jean Noel Courand, insisted that Thomson’s foul play was at the lower end of the scale of IRB sanctions and that the original ban of two weeks was reduced to one on account of his good conduct at the hearing.

 

A lot of outrage came from underage coaches who were extremely concerned over the precedent the lenient ban set.

 

On appeal from the IRB the ban was extended by a week to two weeks.

 

There is very little difference between the severity of Healy’s stamp when compared to Thomson’s and he has a comparably good disciplinary record going into the hearing as Thomson had but Rugby’s stance towards these type of offences has hardened and Healy and Ireland may pay the price.

 

The fact that the Scottish reaction to the incident involving Thomson was a lot more subdued than the English players on Sunday shouldn’t be a factor.

 

It will be very interesting to see the difference, if there is any, in the punishment dished out.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport