Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI 1 (4)

Poland POL 1 (5)

AET

Wales WAL 0

Northern Ireland NIR 0

Ongoing

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Big payday at stake

Published 15/03/2013 | 05:00

Ireland will be playing for more than just pride in Rome tomorrow – with a multi-million euro windfall still up for grabs, writes David Kelly.

Ireland will be seeking to finish their disappointing campaign on a high in Rome with a winning finish that could be worth up to €2m – the difference between finishing third and rock bottom of the Six Nations pile.

"If we can go out, represent Ireland to the best of our ability and come out with a win, that would be some achievement given everything that has been thrown at the lads," said head coach Declan Kidney.

With England and Wales disputing the primary prize of the Six Nations title – a Grand Slam for England would be worth some €5.8m – prize money is distributed all the way down to last place.

An unthinkable rock-bottom finish for Ireland would still be worth some €928,000 from the record £12m prize fund, while the difference between the lower placings is believed to be worth up to €1m between 2nd and 6th.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport