Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA 2

Spain ESP 0

Full Time

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


Hamilton hails huge win for Scotland

Duncan Bech

Published 24/02/2013 | 16:37

JIM HAMILTON hailed a "massive win" for Scotland after they completed back-to-back RBS Six Nations victories with a 12-8 triumph over Ireland at Murrayfield.

The visitors dominated at first but could only accrue an 8-0 lead, and were subsequently beaten as Greg Laidlaw converted four penalties for the Scots, who defeated Italy in their previous outing.

Lock Hamilton, the man of the match, told BBC 1: "I think you can see what it means to the boys and the supporters here. That is a massive win for us.

"The support here was absolutely outstanding today and you saw what it meant to the boys hanging on in there at the end.

"We have put a lot of work into our line-out and scrum. I thought our scrum was absolutely immense.

"I think a special mention has to go to Geoff Cross today - he has come in and done a magnificent job. Credit to all the forwards.

"We really dug deep today and I think you can see that means a lot to us.

"We knew Ireland notoriously start well and we hung in there in the first half.

"To go in (at half-time) at 3-0 to Ireland was probably a good outcome for us. We went out in the second half and had to dig deep, and we took our chances."

Press Association

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport