Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP


England ENG

Iceland ISL


Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Ronan O'Gara dropped from Irish squad for France

Published 03/03/2013 | 18:02

DECLAN Kidney has been sensationally dropped Ronan O'Gara from his 23-man squad for the visit of France to the Aviva Stadium next Saturday.

It is the first time in his 128-cap and 13-year career that a fully-fit O'Gara will not have a place on the team or bench for his country.

O'Gara, who turns 36 on Thursday, had been suffering from a loss of form recently and failed to make an impact when introduced against Scotland but was back on form against the Ospreys last night.

Jonathan Sexton returns to the squad following his recovery from a hamstring injury and Paddy Jackson is preferred to O'Gara as his understudy.

Leinster's uncapped Ian Madigan is also included in the 32 man squad meaning that O'Gara is now fourth in the pecking order for Ireland.

The decision could prompt the end of O'Gara's glittering international career.

Ulster duo of Dan Tuohy and Andrew Trimble have been called up to the squad.

Injury concerns Jonathan Sexton, Mike McCarthy, Donnacha Ryan and Craig Gilroy have also been included.

Both Robbie Henshaw and Daren Cave were not considered due to picking up concussions while playing for their provinces over the weekend.

A full medical update will take place tomorrow at the Ireland team media session at 1pm, but none of the 32 members of the squad have been ruled out of contention for selection against France.


IRELAND Training Squad (v France, 2013 RBS 6 Nations Championship):


Rory Best (Ulster)


Sean Cronin (Leinster)


Robbie Diack (Ulster)


Keith Earls (Munster)


Luke Fitzgerald (Leinster)


Declan Fitzpatrick (Ulster)


Craig Gilroy (Ulster)


Cian Healy (Leinster)


Jamie Heaslip (Leinster)


Iain Henderson (Ulster)


Paddy Jackson (Ulster)


David Kearney (Leinster)


Rob Kearney (Leinster)


David Kilcoyne (Munster)


Ian Madigan (Leinster)


Luke Marshall (Ulster)


MIke McCarthy (Connacht)


Fergus McFadden (Leinster)


Conor Murray (Munster)


Sean O'Brien (Leinster)


Donncha O'Callaghan (Munster)


Tommy O'Donnell (Munster)


Brian O'Driscoll (Leinster)


Peter O'Mahony (Munster)


Eoin O'Malley (Leinster)


Eoin Reddan (Leinster)


Mike Ross (Leinster)


Donnacha Ryan (Munster)


Jonathan Sexton (Leinster)


Andrew Trimble (Ulster)


Devin Toner (Leinster)


Dan Tuohy (Ulster)


Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport