Tuesday 28 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Radrobro provides spark for Daveta to take glory

Daveta 36 Vancouver 12

Published 11/08/2014 | 02:30

Munster's Ned Hodson is stopped in his tracks during his side's Limerick World Club 7s clash with the Vodacom Blue Bulls. Photo: INPHO/James Crombie
Munster's Ned Hodson is stopped in his tracks during his side's Limerick World Club 7s clash with the Vodacom Blue Bulls. Photo: INPHO/James Crombie

Despite finishing third in their pool and qualifying as the seventh of eight seeds, Fijian outfit Daveta were crowned inaugural Limerick World Club 7s champions at Thomond Park yesterday.

In many ways it was fitting that the two crowd favourites competed in the cup final, but Vancouver, who excited from start to finish, were no match for Daveta, who found their form.

The Canadian side started the brighter of the two.

And much to the delight of the crowd, they took an early lead when Justin Douglas raced over for a brilliant individual try. Sean White converted for an early 7-0 lead, but that gave Daveta the wake-up call they needed.

Edemasi Radrobro scored two tries in quick succession, both of which were converted by Emendoni Nasilasila, while Levani Tani dotted down on the stroke of half-time for a 19-7 lead.

There was no let-up in the second half from the Fijian side as Tani, Luire Navuwai and Uwaisi Sauvocia added further tries as well as a Nasilasila conversion.

Jake Webster did add a consolation try for Vancouver right at the death, but it was Daveta who deservedly claimed the honours.

Meanwhile, Australian Super 15 outfit Waratahs saw off Saracens (24-19) to win the Shield.

Carlin Isles couldn't inspire New York in the Plate final as the American side were well beaten (38-5) by a Moscow Saracens team who played an excellent brand of rugby all weekend.

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport