Saturday 25 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Today's Fixtures

Switzerland SUI

Poland POL

14:00

Wales WAL

Northern Ireland NIR

17:00

Croatia CRO

Portugal POR

20:00

Sun 26th June

France FRA

Rep of Ireland IRL

14:00

Germany GER

Slovakia SVK

17:00

Hungary HUN

Belgium BEL

20:00

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00


Tindall final player of '03 England side to call it day

Gavin Mairs

Published 16/07/2014 | 02:30

Mike Tindall had hoped to continue in a player/coach role at Gloucester but was not offered a contract after David Humphreys recent appointment. Photo by Ben Hoskins/Getty Images
Mike Tindall had hoped to continue in a player/coach role at Gloucester but was not offered a contract after David Humphreys recent appointment. Photo by Ben Hoskins/Getty Images

The most glorious era of English rugby was finally brought to a close yesterday when Mike Tindall became the last member of the 2003 World Cup-winning squad to announce his retirement.

Tindall, who played in all seven games of the victorious campaign in Australia, had hoped to continue in a player-coach role at Gloucester next season but was not offered a new contract following the appointment last month of Ireland's David Humphreys as director of rugby.

It is thought that Bristol, of the Championship, had expressed an interest in offering a player-coach role but the 35-year-old decided instead to call time on a 17-year career that brought him 75 caps, seven as captain. He scored 14 tries.

Tindall, married to the Queen of England's grand-daughter, Zara Phillips, is now expected to focus on a career in the media.

"After 17 years, it's time to retire from rugby," Tindall announced. "I have been lucky to play with/against some great players, two great clubs and have had some amazing times."

The announcement came four days after Iain Balshaw, the Biarritz full-back who was on the bench in the World Cup final victory against Australia in Sydney, confirmed his retirement after failing to recover from a knee injury.

Balshaw's decision briefly left Tindall as the sole member of the squad still playing following the retirement at the end of last season of star out-half Jonny Wilkinson.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport