Sport Other Rugby

Friday 21 October 2016

'Tarf's Wood earns coach of year award

Published 19/05/2016 | 02:30

Andy Wood, Coach of the Year (Photo: Sportsfile)
Andy Wood, Coach of the Year (Photo: Sportsfile)

Clontarf's title winning season was capped at the Ulster Bank League awards last night as the champions picked up three of the 14 gongs, which were presented by Joe Schmidt at the Aviva Stadium.

  • Go To

Andy Wood was named Head Coach of the Year, while Leinster Academy out-half Joey Carbery picked up the Rising Star award.

For the third time in four years, 'Tarf winger Mick McGrath finished as the division's top try scorer having taken his tally to 15 with a touchdown in the final.

Meanwhile, Cork Con second-row Conor Kindregan was crowned Division 1A Player of the Year for his fine season that saw his side win the Bateman Cup and Munster Senior Cup.

Elsewhere, Angus Lloyd (Trinity), Charlie O'Regan (UCC), Paddy O'Toole (Highfield) and Brendan Guilfoyle (Old Crescent) were named as Player of the Year in their respective divisions.

Indo Sport

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport