Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00


O’Gara: It was very, very difficult at the start but I’m now happy in France

Published 21/05/2014 | 20:02

O'Gara says he is very happy in france after a difficult start in Paris
O'Gara says he is very happy in france after a difficult start in Paris

Racing Metro assistant coach Ronan O’Gara has conceded the move to France was difficult at the start but is now enjoying life in his new surroundings.

Racing’s season came to an end with a Top 14 semi-final defeat to Toulon and while it was disappointment on the day, the former Munster and Ireland out-half says the club exceeded expectations from the start of the season.

The Corkman also revealed in an interview on Newstalk’s Off the Ball that he is very happy with his current position in France despite being linked to Munster and a place in Anthony Foley’s new backroom team.

“It was a large bit of eveything,” he said when asked what he had learned in his first year in France.

“It was very, very difficult at the beginning, but we did make a lot of progress.”

O’Gara admitted that there was a gulf in class clearly evident in the 16-13 defeat to the all-conquering Toulon.

“There was not enough quality to beat Toulon and that maybe made it a little easier to accept,” he admitted.

“The scoreline flattered us. They were far better than us.”

“They had a distinct advantage and there was no surprise from me after 80 minutes that we were behind.”

“To get to a semi-final is quite an achievement from where we’re coming from.”

Despite being linked with Munster, O’Gara says that both personally and professionally he is very happy where he is.

“My position at Racing is probably higher than what I would get here (Ireland) and I’m probably getting double the learning experience in France.”

O’Gara added that it was great that his children are learning another language and getting to grips with French in Paris.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport