Saturday 25 October 2014

Provincial quartet to join Irish U-18s on Euro stage

Published 11/04/2014 | 02:30

26 February 2014; Calvin Nash, Crescent CC, scores his side's second try despite the efforts of Cian Collins, Presentation Brothers College. SEAT Munster Schools Senior Cup Quarter-Final, Crescent College Comprehensive, Limerick v Presentation Brothers College, Cork. Rosbrien, Limerick. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE
Calvin Nash - pictured scoring for Crescent College Comprehensive in the SEAT Munster Schools' Senior Cup - has earned a call-up to the Ireland U-18 Schools squad

Four Munster players have been named on the Ireland U-18 Schools squad for the FIRA U-18 European Championships which begin today in Poland and run until April 19.

Crescent College Comprehensive winger Calvin Nash has been named along with PBC centre Paul Kiernan.

And two players from Rockwell College have been selected, winger Alan McMahon and second-row Sean O'Connor.

Ireland, who compete in the Elite Division, will start their campaign off against Georgia today in Opalenica in western Poland.

An Irish win would set up a showdown against either France or Italy next Tuesday. Ireland's final match of the championships will take place on tomorrow week, April 19.

The other competing nations in the Elite Division of the FIRA European Championships include England, Wales, France, Scotland, Italy, Georgia and Portugal.

The Ireland U-18 Schools team are coached by Noel McNamara (head coach), Mark Butler (backs coach), Brian Robinson (forwards coach) and Paul McCarthy (scrum coach).

U-18 Schools squad for FIRA European Championships – P Claffey (Garbally/Connacht), W Connors (Clongowes/ Leinster), C Cregan (St Michael's/Leinster), M Deegan (St Michael's/Leinster), D Duggan (St Michael's/Leinster), M Gilsenan (St Michael's/Leinster), J Guy (St Andrews/ Leinster), G Jones (St Andrews/Leinster), H Kean (Blackrock/Leinster), C Kenny (Garbally/Connacht), P Kiernan (Presentation/Munster), J Larmour (St Andrews/Leinster), C McIlmurray (Campbell/Ulster), A McMahon (Rockwell/Munster), J Molony (Clongowes/Leinster), C Mulcahy (Clongowes/Leinster), C Nash (Crescent/Munster), J O'Brien (Newbridge/Leinster), S O'Connor (Rockwell/Munster), C O'Donnell (Summerhill/Connacht), O O'Meara (St Michael's/Leinster), R Osborne (Clongowes/ Leinster), A Porter (St Andrews/Leinster), J Power (Blackrock/Leinster), J Ryan (St Michael's/Leinster), J Stockdale (Wallace/Ulster).

FIRA European Championships fixtures


Today, Opalenica, 2.00pm (1.00pm Irish time)


Tuesday, April 15, TBC, KO TBC


Saturday, April 19, TBC, KO TBC

Indo Sport

Read More

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport