Friday 1 July 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Today's Fixtures

Poland POL 1 (3)

Portugal POR 1 (5)

AET

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00

Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA

20:00

Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL

20:00


Late Duffy double steers Michael’s past Monkstown’s dogged challenge

ST MICHAEL’S COLLEGE 13 CBC MONKSTOWN 7

Published 27/02/2013 | 04:00

It took two final-quarter tries from flanker Robert Duffy to maintain St Michael's grip on the competition in this thriller at Donnybrook.

  • Go To

You had to sympathise with a gallant and skilful CBC as they had improved even further from their Junior League final win over Gonzaga to throw down the gauntlet to the holders.

There was well measured risk and purpose to everything they did – there had to be. Centre Dan Casey was a standout for them and it was his brilliance that helped CBC to a 7-0 lead at the break.

Casey shot through a hole in midfield and, accelerating into space, he quickly eyed up his options and kicked over the head of full-back Michael Heaney to regather on the bounce for a superb individual try at the posts. He converted as well.

The challenge had been laid down to St Michael's. And how the champions responded!

They kept to their game plan, running wide of traffic whenever the space opened up. They took control of territory and No 8 Barry Fitzpatrick kicked a penalty when CBC were too slow to roll away at a ruck in the 35th minute.

The pressure was building going into the final quarter. And when St Michael's won a line-out on the right, a simple, effective move at the tail put them onto the front foot.

Prop Sam Griffen powered ahead. The ball was swung left. Centre James Hickey cut back against the grain before Duffy scorched over for an 8-7 lead.

It was still there for either side. Casey went close from two difficult penalties. But it would fall to Duffy to provide the killer blow in the 62nd minute.

St Michael's – M Heaney; H McIntyre (R Frankling 35), J Kelly (capt), J Hickey, C Carey; H Byrne, P O'Beirne; R Kelleher, T Glynn, S Griffen; J Kennedy, M O'Donahoe (A Connolly 58); R Duffy, O Dowling, B Fitzpatrick.

CBC Monkstown – T Kelly; D Porter (K Shaw 67), D Casey (capt), P Rodgers, C Barry; D Spillane (J Blennerhasset 31), R Jordan; J Stafford, A Holmes, E Clarke; R Doyle, A Byrne; C Madden ( P Jennings 42), T O'Callaghan, W Fay.

Ref – K Henley-Willis (Leinster Branch)

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport