Wednesday 29 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Mon 27th June

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR


Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL


Sat 02nd July

Germany GER

Italy ITA


Sun 03rd July

France FRA

Iceland ISL


James Cronin named in Munster’s Heineken Cup squad

Published 20/09/2013 | 11:29

James Cronin, Munster, is tackled by Lee Jones, Edinburgh
James Cronin, Munster, is tackled by Lee Jones, Edinburgh

James Cronin has been named in Munster's Heineken Cup squad for this season. His full inclusion follows his late call-up last season when he was one of three additional players nominated ahead of the knock-out stages.

  • Go To

Joining Cronin is scrum half Cathal Sheridan, another late inclusion last season, and development hooker Duncan Casey. The uncapped Casey was named in last year’s panel but like Cronin and Sheridan has yet to make an appearance at European level.

Fellow development hooker Niall Scannell has also been named, who is included in his first Heineken Cup squad along with CJ Stander, Ronan O’Mahony, Ian Nagle, Alan Cotter and Andrew Conway.

With the competition for places peaking in the last few weeks Head Coach Rob Penney’s omission in the back row was forced in the end with a knee injury to Tommy O’Donnell who could be unavailable for up to three months.

Other notable absentees from the 38 man squad are Luke O’Dea who is recovering from a wrist injury and Gerhard van den Heever, the South African who is set to join Munster at the conclusion of the Currie Cup in November, subject to being granted a work permit.

Munster may register up to two additional players during the pool stage, each to replace a player previously registered, and if two additional players are selected one such player must be front row cover.

Munster Heineken Cup Squad: Denis Hurley, Felix Jones, Simon Zebo, Keith Earls, Ronan O’Mahony, James Downey, Johne Murphy, Casey Laulala Ivan Dineen, Andrew Conway, Ian Keatley, JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray, Cathal Sheridan, Duncan Williams.

Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Alan Cotter, James Cronin, Dave Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, Duncan Casey, Mike Sherry, Damien Varley, Dave Foley, Billy Holland, Ian Nagle, Dave O’Callaghan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Donnacha Ryan, Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, Peter O’Mahony, Niall Ronan, CJ Stander, James Coughlan.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport