Monday 27 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Sun 26th June

Today's Fixtures

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


We didn't perform on the day, says Ireland captain

Published 13/08/2014 | 19:52

Ireland captain Fiona Coghlan speaks to her team-mates after the Women's Rugby World Cup semi-final
Ireland captain Fiona Coghlan speaks to her team-mates after the Women's Rugby World Cup semi-final

Fiona Coghlan has said Ireland failed to show people what their team is capable of after losing out to England for a place in the Women's Rugby World Cup Final.

The Irish skipper said the most disappointing aspect of their 40-7 defeat was the manner in which they lost as England marched on to fourth successive World Cup Final where they will hope to avenge those three defeats to New Zealand.

"It's bitterly disappointing," Coghlan conceded afterwards.

"We played within ourselves, that was the most disappointing thing. We just didn't perform."

"I don't know whether the occasion got to us and we gave them some soft tries."

Coghlan was able to look back on the strides made by the team in France and believes when the dust settles can be very proud of their achievements, particularly the historic victory over the All Ferns.

"Getting to a World Cup semi-final is a huge thing for us," she insisted.

"We have made people sit up and notice us."

"Beating New Zealand was a memorable moment we won't forget."

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport