Tuesday 6 December 2016

Video: Did CJ Stander deserve a red card for this controversial big hit on Pat Lambie?

Harry Clarke

Published 11/06/2016 | 16:52

CJ Stander, right, of Ireland is shown a straight red card by referee Mathieu Raynal
CJ Stander, right, of Ireland is shown a straight red card by referee Mathieu Raynal

CJ Stander was certainly fired up against his birth country today with the number six visibly emotional during the national anthems before Ireland's clash with South Africa.

  • Go To

But the blindside flanker's intensity spilled over into a very controversial flashpoint during the first quarter after the Munster captain caught South African out-half Pat Lambie with a high challenge.

Stander connected with Lambie's head with his hip as he attempted to block the Springbok's clearance kick, with the number ten immediately crumpling to the turf in an unconscious state.

French referee Mathieu Raynal took a very strict view of Stander's collision, producing a red card which stunned the Irish crowd. The issue has proved divisive on social media, with many disagreeing with the official's decision.

Do you think Stander deserved to see red for this?

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport