Saturday 3 December 2016

'Beauden Barrett score should have been a penalty try' - Referee's shocking performance in Ireland-All Blacks clash analysed

Published 20/11/2016 | 11:23

That Jaco Peyper has officiated a second game involving Ireland that was marred by cynical tackling and a litany of refereeing errors. Here we take a closer look at some of the most controversial moments.

  • Go To

The Beauden Barrett try

The South African referee clearly allowed himself to be dictated to by the TMO when he clearly didn't believe that Barrett has grounded the ball.

He seemed so shocked by the definitive nature of Jon Mason's response that he asked: “Did you clearly see the ball touch the grass?”

Had it been established that Barrett had failed to ground the ball, then Jonathan Sexton should have been yellow-carded for a high tackle and a penalty try should have accrued.


Either way Ireland were conceding seven points, at least we maintained 15 players on the field.

Malakai Fekitoa high tackle

Simon Zebo will wake up this morning mightily relieved that his head is still resting on his shoulders.

Fekitoa's 48th minute tackle was as reckless and as dangerous as you are likely to see.

A red card should have been the decision and it came back to bite Ireland when the outside centre sauntered in for his second try of the game when he returned to the fold.

Aaron Smith and Fekitoa (again) were both lucky to stay on the pitch following high tackles either side of half time.

Citing Commissioner Bruce Kuklinski has 24 hours from the end  of the game to determine whether action against any player from either side is warranted.

Why would you choose not to use the TMO

Perhaps Mason's decision to award Barrett's first half try was still in his mind when Peyper decided against checking that the pass that sent Fekitoa clear for the All  Blacks' third try was indeed backwards.

Before Barrett nailed the conversion, Rory Best ran out to the ref to plead with him to check the validity of the score with the TMO.

Peyper slapped down Best's protestations by stating that captain's referrals were not yet part of the game and the Ulsterman was clearly unimpressed.

New Zealand were denied a legitimate try

You are allowed to knock-on when stripping a ball and that's exactly what Beauden Barrett did to Paddy Jackson.

It would and should have been a very embarrassing moment for the Ulster flyhalf but Mr Peyper spared his blushes.

Jackson.jpg

Henshaw hit should have led to a yellow

Sam Cane clearly shouldered Henshaw in the jaw. It's a clear yellow card.

The severity of the hit forced the removal of the Leinster star on a stretcher.


Cynical scrum tactic only resulted in a penalty

Kieran Read somehow got away with breaking from his own scrum and latching onto the ball with the All Black pack in retreat just yards from their own line.

The All Black skipper should have been binned for that blatant example of cynicism.

Online Editors

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport