Saturday 21 October 2017

Irish World Cup stars return to Munster line-up for Aironi clash Reporters

INTERNATIONALS Keith Earls, Conor Murray, Ronan O'Gara, Donnacha Ryan, Paul O'Connell and Denis Leamy return to the Munster team for tomorrow’s RaboDirect PRO12 tie against Aironi.

And Donncha O'Callaghan is among the replacements, along with Tomas O'Leary.

Will Chambers is at outside centre so Danny Barnes switches to 12.

The return of O'Connell sees him take over as captain, although stand-in captain Peter O'Mahony retains his place in the starting XV.

Says coachTony McGahan: ‘’Munster need to hit the ground running. I think you'll have seen South African, English and other countries players come back and play as soon as they were out of the quarter finals.

"The Irish players had two weeks rest. We're already at least a week and a bit behind so we need to look at all the possibilities and people who are going to be best for us short term and long term in this 4 week block that we have."

Team: J Murphy; D Howlett, W Chambers, D Barnes, K Earls; R O'Gara, C Murray; W du Preez, D Varley, BJ Botha; D Ryan, P O'Connell capt ; D Leamy, P O'Mahony, J Coughlan.

Replacements: D Fogarty, M Horan, J Hayes, D O'Callaghan, N Ronan, T O'Leary, S Deasy, L Mafi.

Venue: Musgrave Park, Friday at 8.30am:

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport