Wednesday 20 September 2017

Irish and Welsh share Pro12 spoils

Leinster's Sean Cronin in action during squad training
Leinster's Sean Cronin in action during squad training
Ruaidhri O'Connor

Ruaidhri O'Connor

Seven players from Irish provinces have been selected in the RaboDirect Pro12 Dream Team.

Leinster lead the way with three players on the team selected by journalists from the four competing countries. All three come in the pack, with hooker Sean Cronin and back-rows Rhys Ruddock and Jordi Murphy making the grade.

Munster have two representatives in Casey Laulala and Dave Kilcoyne, while Wexford back-rower Robin Copeland – who joins Anthony Foley's team next season from Cardiff Blues – is named at No 8.

Ulster's Johann Muller captains the side, while Ireland star Andrew Trimble takes his place on the wing having collected a hat-trick of awards at the province's own end-of-season awards.

Despite not having a representative in the semi-finals, the Welsh regions make up seven members of the team, while centre Alex Dunbar is second-placed side Glasgow Warriors' sole representative.

RaboDirect Pro12 Dream Team 2013/14 – L Williams (Scarlets); J Hassler (Ospreys), C Laulala (Munster), A Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), A Trimble (Ulster); D Biggar (Ospreys), G Davies (Scarlets); D Kilcoyne (Munster), S Cronin (Leinster), S Lee (Scarlets), J Muller (Ulster, capt), AW Jones (Ospreys), R Ruddock (Leinster), J Murphy (Leinster), R Copeland (Cardiff Blues)

Irish Independent

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport