Wednesday 18 January 2017

Trio of awards 'rounds off season nicely' for Bowe

Published 24/08/2010 | 05:00

Tommy Bowe has scooped a hat-trick of awards as the Ireland and Ospreys winger was named as winner of the Magners Players' Player Award at the inaugural Magners League Awards ceremony at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium.

  • Go To

It is the third honour bestowed on the Monaghan man by his peers following the players of both Ireland and Wales also naming the 26-year-old as their outstanding player of the 2009/2010 season.

"This is a great honour, especially as the votes have come from the other players in the Magners League," said Bowe of his clean sweep of the individual honours board.

"It was a great season for the Ospreys, culminating in us winning the Grand Final against Leinster in Dublin, and this award rounds off the season very nicely indeed."

Bowe faced tough opposition from the Cardiff Blues duo of Xavier Rush and Ceri Sweeney, Dragons wing Aled Brew and the league's top try scorer Tim Visser, of Edinburgh, who scooped the Young Player of the Season award.

Connacht's Michael Bradley received the Celtic Rugby Chairman's Award.

Magners League Dream Team 2009/2010 -- B Blair (Cardiff Blues); T Bowe (Ospreys), B O'Driscoll (Leinster), J Hook (Ospreys), T Visser (Edinburgh); D Parks (Glasgow Warriors), T O'Leary (Munster); G Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), K Owens (Scarlets), A Jones (Ospreys), L Cullen (Leinster), A Kellock (Glasgow Warriors), J Collins (Ospreys), J Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), J Heaslip (Leinster).

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport