Sunday 26 June 2016

EURO 2016 LATEST Visit Euro 2016 Hub

Fri 10th June

Sat 11th June

Sun 12th June

Mon 13th June

Tue 14th June

Wed 15th June

Thu 16th June

Fri 17th June

Sat 18th June

Sun 19th June

Mon 20th June

Sat 25th June

Today's Fixtures

Mon 27th June

Italy ITA

Spain ESP

17:00

England ENG

Iceland ISL

20:00

Thu 30th June

Poland POL

Portugal POR

20:00

Fri 01st July

Wales WAL

Belgium BEL

20:00


O'Mahony eager to seize every opportunity at Munster

Cian Tracey

Published 13/08/2014 | 02:30

Ronan O'Mahony says the appointment of a new coaching team at Munster means this season will be a 'clean slate' for the squad. Photo: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE
Ronan O'Mahony says the appointment of a new coaching team at Munster means this season will be a 'clean slate' for the squad. Photo: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILE

Ronan O'Mahony has had to bide his time to impress in a Munster jersey but last season his appearances in the Pro12 gave a glimpse of his quality.

The 25-year old rejected several opportunities to leave the province to further his career and he will be hoping that this season proves that the waiting game has been worthwhile.

O'Mahony made his try scoring senior debut in April last year against the Dragons and has since made nine appearances.

As he put it himself, the appointment of the new coaching team means that it is a "clean slate" for all of the players.

"Everyone is starting from scratch and wants to put their best foot forward and then hopefully you'll get selected," he said.

"I want to progress from where I left off last year. It's going to be a big season and I'm really looking forward to it."

O'Mahony was one of only three senior players selected to play in last weekend's World Club 7s tournament and was also handed the captaincy.

For those that have tracked his progress from schools rugby, it would have come as little surprise to see him excelling in a game in which players thrive in open space.

He finished the tournament with two tries including a scintillating 70m score against San Francisco.

"Any time you skipper a Munster team it's a great privilege. It was a massive honour for me.

"Changing codes definitely tests all of your skills. It was hugely beneficial.

"You have to be accurate in everything you do. There's a lot of space out there and when you're trying to beat defenders one-on-one, it's something that you can bring back to the 15s game.

"It was a great opportunity for us to stake our claim and show the coaches what we've got," the Limerick native added.

Irish Independent

Read More

Promoted articles

Editor's Choice

Also in Sport